NEW JERSEY
You are in good hands

Processed over 800k tickets

Saved $120M+ in insurance increase

4.7 star rating with 3000+ reviews

Tell us what happened or call us
We need some information about your ticket
Select the violation/reason you got pulled over:
Step 1 of 6
TRAFFIC TICKETS IN NEW JERSEY
Traffic Fines & Penalities

Like those of most other states, traffic ticket fines in New Jersey depend on the specifics of each individual violation. This is much different from New York traffic tickets, for example. In New York, the fine depends on the category of the violation, your driving record, and many other factors. In New Jersey, the fine is almost always right there in the law.

For example, if you are convicted of driving or parking an unregistered motor vehicle (violation 39:3-4), you will be subjected to a fine equal to the flat rate of $54. The fine is spelled out right there in the law ("not exceeding $100") and the courts have decided the fine will be set at $54.

Of course, you might also have to pay additional fees if you fail to pay your ticket on time, falsify information regarding your driver's license or the ticket, or if either the severity of the violation or your driving record warrants what the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) refers to as "surcharges."

Certain traffic violations even carry the potential for jail time.

NOTE: Even if you decide to fight your ticket — provided that you lose — you might still be liable for late payment penalties depending on the date of your conviction.

Surcharges

The state of New Jersey demands the payment of surcharges when certain circumstances are met. These surcharges are annual fees assessed by the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System (NJSVS) to drivers who have severely or routinely violated the rules of the road.

The chart below lists the violations that can be penalized via surcharges and what those surcharges might look like:

CostDescription
$150Receiving six or more points in a span of three years
$25*Receiving one more point above six in a span of three years
$100 ($300 total)Driving without a license or with an expired license
$250 ($750 total)Driving with a suspended license
$100 ($300 total)Failure to insure a moped
$250 ($750 total)Operating an uninsured vehicle
$1,000 ($3,000 total)Being convicted of your first two DWIs
$1,500 ($4,500 total)Being convicted of a third DWI (if it occurs within three years of your last offense
$1,000 ($3,000 total)Refusing to take a test to measure blood alcohol content

*This surcharge is multiplied by the number of points you receive above six. For example, receiving nine points on your license within a three-year period will result in a $150 surcharge for being above six and another $150 ($50 times three) for receiving three additional points.

Since certain penalties can immediately put you at or above six points, New Jersey's six-point threshold can result in you being surcharged for three years based on a single ticket conviction.

New Jersey Probationary Driver Program — PDP

This is one of two remedial driving programs that the New Jersey MVC offers.

For two years after you receive your first-ever driver license, you will be considered a probationary driver. Being convicted of two or more moving violations with a total of at least four points can result in you being required to take a four-hour classroom course called the Probationary Driver Program. Characteristics of the course are as follow:

  • This is a four-hour classroom course
  • There is a mandatory $75 administration fee
  • Up to three points can be removed from your driving record upon completion of the course

© 2021  Winit LLC, 28 W 27th St. New York NY 10001 | All Rights Reserved.

Winit is not a law firm and does not provide any legal advice. Winit does not guarantee the success of the services made available via the Winit platform. *However, qualified users may pay a premium to receive a money-back guarantee if they fail to receive a reduction on either the fine or points from any traffic ticket covered by such guarantee. Not all tickets qualify for this guarantee, and this premium is not available in those jurisdictions where a refund is prohibited. Your access to the Winit website and mobile application is subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.